bonuszoqa.blogg.se

Let me tell you why you're oppressed meme
Let me tell you why you're oppressed meme





let me tell you why you

Mmm, isn’t it funny how whenever people evoke a specific time when Britain was great, the time they invariably evoke is their own childhood before they were aware of the pressures and anxieties of adulthood? And I’ll be honest, every times Pettitt talks about her husband “taking care” of her, and that is pretty much her No 1 subject, she sounds more like she’s talking about her father than her husband. But no, Pettitt is “harnessing the best of what made Britain great, during that time when you could leave your front door open and know that you were safe, and you knew your strangers in the street.” Initially, I assumed this meant reviving all that mad Nancy Mitford U and non-U stuff, and, let me tell you, as an American wannabe snob, I am VERY down with that. Her name is Alena Kate Pettitt, and in between showing TV crews how she lovingly irons her husband’s shirt and shops for onions, Pettitt runs something called the Darling Academy, which is a newsletter and YouTube channel that “celebrates British etiquette”. I’m afraid that – being both non-trad and a non-wife – I am less plugged in than these women.īut I was especially taken with one trad wife.

let me tell you why you

Who knew being so traditional was also so modern? And so busy! Last week alone, there were interviews with tradwives in the Daily Mail, the Times and on the BBC, This Morning, Victoria Derbyshire and, for all I know, piped 24/7 across all channels. So a “tradwife” is a woman who doesn’t work so as to look after their children, their husband, their home and then talk non-stop about how great this is on social media. It’s just so much more zeitgeist, you see? It’s like bringing back 90s style, but swapping that brown eyeliner for contouring makeup. Now you might think: “Ummm, that doesn’t sound THAT new to me.” But all fashion trends are rehashes, and “tradwife”, as this one is dubbed, is housewife with a social media spin.







Let me tell you why you're oppressed meme